Anniversaries

ImageToday is the day that my wife and I have been married for four years (yes, in a row).  We’ve even been together for over seven (yes, in a row).  I couldn’t be happier that she and I ever met…we have learned that we’re so great for each other because we’re almost polar opposites.  I mean, polar.  Following are some examples:

–She doesn’t like lasagna.  I’m Italian.

–She sleeps in a hoodie and sweats, even in the summer.  You can guess how I sleep, especially in the summer.

–She is patient.  I can’t even pretend to be, particularly when I’m second in line, behind three lanes of people sitting stopped at a green light.

–She makes quiche on her mornings off.  I’m lucky if I get oatmeal in a bowl.

–During her free time, she watches TV.  A day off when I’m alone, the TV won’t even get turned on (no lie).  

And finally (and most substantially):

–It actually costs her energy to spend time with people.  I, on the other hand, am completely energized by a room full of people I don’t know.

Image

I Think She Likes The Dog More Than She Lets On…

For all of our differences, though, I’d be so much less fulfilled than I am today, and not even know it.  If it weren’t for her, I wouldn’t have tasted authentic Mexican food off a RoachCoach in Tucson (three pound burrito for four bucks…best GutBomb I ever had).  If it weren’t for her, I’d have probably only lived in two states (KS and IL), and likely would never have given a second thought to either Arizona or Virginia.  If it weren’t for her, I’d never have met a good chunk of my best friends:  I met a couple of them on my own in Tucson, but nearly everyone I am close friends with now has been a direct result of meeting people she works with!  I’d have never had this trip through the Arizona desert.  I know what it feels like to cram into the Metro after a Cubs/Nats game, holding her hand the entire way as we fight the crowds to get on.  There’s no one else I’d rather kill twenty minutes in a Metro station with while I wait for the next train.  

Our families both (most of them, anyway) live in Chicago, so we do a lot of driving home.  Our talks during those eleven or twelve hours together are epic.  Traveling in general is just more fun when she is by my side.  Also, she helps me get through the winter months, even when I find it hard to.    

Image

Why Does She Put Up With Me?

She believes in me when I don’t, and I return the favor by having enough hope for the both of us, when she runs out.  Reference the two years she waited to hear about the government job; we went out to celebrate the death of her shot at that job no fewer than three times, and each time we did, she’d hear that she’d advanced to the next stage.  Talk about an emotional roller coaster!

It’s sort of funny to imagine the immature young man I was at 24, when I met her; to contrast that guy with the man I am now would be enough to make anyone wonder how in the hell I got so lucky.  Sometimes, I still don’t know.  But I’m glad I plucked up the courage that day in a hot tub in Buena Vista, Colorado, with the Rockies in the background, and asked her to marry me (for real, this time)…because the truth is, my life up until now would have been so lacking of the most enriching experiences I’ve had so far without her.  It is my best hope that any of you who are reading this are as happily together with someone as I have had the privilege to be.  

Here’s to at least 50 more!

 

    • denise701
    • May 24th, 2013

    Dad and I had our doubts about your future, until you met Alison! Lol. All kidding aside, I’m sure you would have still grown into the responsible, hard working, positive, handsome, caring, (I could go on & on, but I won’t) man that you have become. We are very proud of you and we love Allison to pieces. She definitely had a positive role in your maturing. I hope you both had a lovely anniversary. Great blog.

    • LOL I have no doubt that that is true, Ma. I credit her with helping me to grow up in more ways than one. Thanks for reading, BTW 🙂

    • Greg
    • May 24th, 2013

    Good job

    • Sue Rakowski
    • May 25th, 2013

    Happy Anniversary Jeff and Allie! Glad I got to dance at your wedding.

    • Me too 🙂

    • Oh lord Sue…I never saw your comment until now. Sorry I never replied!

      I had such a great time at the wedding, and I’m glad that so many of our families and friends were able to make it out to celebrate with us. Four years later, we’ve done you proud so far 🙂

  1. June 19th, 2013

Leave a Reply

