The Lightsaber, Part II

Success!

Well, it’s been a little while (about a year) since I got my first straight razor for Christmas.  They say it takes about 100 shaves before you really get the hang of it…if you want the God’s Honest Truth, I lost count of how many shaves it took me to really get it, and how many I’m at now.  Thinking back on it, it was probably a solid 40-50 before I could do it comfortably every time, with the blade the appropriate level of sharpness, and few nicks (or outright gashes).  I still have issues sometimes, mainly when the blade gets to the point of needing a new edge, and I’ve been too lazy (or haven’t had time) to run it over the hone, and try to shave with it anyway.  No bueno, let me tell you.

Never Needs Sharpening!

Not bad for someone who spent the first 11-13 years of his young adult life shaving with a Mach 3, in the shower, and without using a mirror or shaving cream.  Once I learned how hard it is to actually cut yourself with a regular razor cartridge, I thought, “What’s the point of a mirror or cream, if I won’t cut myself when I shave?”  So, I learned to do it blind in the shower, where the hot water could really keep my pores open.  I learned the shape of my face by feeling it, and I can even keep a pretty clean edge on my goatee and my neckline without having to look.  It was cheaper that way, too–those razor cartridges cost out the nose these days!

It wasn’t until one of my best friends got married that I found out that this was apparently very abnormal…all of us groomsmen were fresh from a morning shave the day of the wedding, and how I normally do it came up in conversation while we were waiting on the ladies for pictures, I think.  Everyone looked at me incredulously, and I couldn’t figure out why.  Ahh, the things that we grow up thinking are normal…

I suppose it plays to my personality–I’ve always been a learn-it-yourselfer, for better or worse.  I taught myself to snowboard without first taking the class, for example; the first time down the mountain, it took me two full hours of this, figuring out how the board worked, how the speed felt.  It sucked, and I was bruised and hurting by the end of it.  I sat and drank a beer for 45 minutes at the lodge, then went up to hit it again without a second thought.  I don’t know why I wasn’t deterred, but I wasn’t.  Second time down the hill: 15 minutes.

I guess the lesson is that you can literally teach yourself to do anything, and you shouldn’t give up something you want to reach just because you failed at it on the first try.  I taught myself to play the guitar, too, because I wanted to.  I’m not Stevie Ray Vaughn, but I don’t suck at it, either.

Where you are in life is right where you should be.  And if it isn’t, it’s time to either make some changes, or start learning again.

What new thing are you learning?  Have you had any progress with it?  Can I help you figure it out?

Have a great rest of the week, guys!

  1. April 4th, 2013

Leave a Reply

