Human Business Works

I.    Am officially.   A “startup.” startup

In the business world, a “startup” is just that–a brand new company with an idea, product or service which hasn’t quite gotten going.  It needs to have its affairs in order, begin drawing as many customers as possible to it, build buzz around it by word of mouth or other marketing techniques, and most of all, start making money.  A startup almost (emphasis on almost) always runs in the red for a period of time before its revenues overtake initial launch and operating costs (read: “makes more than it spends”).

Well, all of that applies to me, at the moment.  Since beginning in real estate, I’ve had relatively small startup costs, but I do owe it to those invested in me to repay them in short order, and do with their funds exactly what I said I would.  (I’m working on it, and I have.)  I’ve convinced my first few clients to hire me as their Realtor, and I’m busting my butt to provide the highest level of customer service that I know how to, in hopes that they will like me enough to refer others to me.  What more can I do, right?

Well, there is something.

Besides staying informed by reading blogs like Seth Godin’s, Marcus Brotherton’s and Mark Cuban’s (among others), there are ways to boost business.  Chief among them is to partner with someone who knows what they are doing (which I’ve done at Keller-Williams Capital Properties by hiring a 20-year-veteran mentor).  Well, after doing a lot of homework, here’s the next big thing for me.
ChrisBrogan

If you are running a business–or WANT to run a business–you need to sign up for this newsletter.  This guy’s name is Chris Brogan, and the man is unbelievable.  His newsletters show up in your email once a week on Sunday mornings, and they are the perfect way to open up the day:  I literally make my coffee, then sit down and start reading for about 4-5 minutes, and come away uplifted and motivated and creative.  His messages aren’t canned, and probably 90% of the time, they aren’t even sales pitches.  Hell, looking back on it–I didn’t even know what he was selling until about 4 weeks in, when I went to the site on my own.  The guy just puts down in words the ethos that he lives each day, and if you can harness some of his (err, actually, your own) energy, it really sets you up to face the week positioned well from the outset.  I’m serious–it’s one of the highlights of my weekend.

He’s got a brand new book (which I’ll be getting on order this weekend), and no, he hasn’t paid me to say any of these things.

He responds to emails when you have questions, he’s an established businessman…it’s like having an even BIGGER mentor, in my opinion.  Seems like a smart, logical next-step for a startup like me.  I’ll be “leading with revenue,” of course, but I’ve got my eye on some of the courses on the Human Business Works website.

Are any of you out there already affiliated with Chris or HBW?  Have you ever taken any of the courses?  What did you think??

 

  1. January 28th, 2013

Leave a Reply

