When Preparation Meets Opportunity…

  There’s an old adage that says, “Luck is when preparation meets opportunity.”  I tend to like this saying a lot, particularly because it is so apt at this point in my life. 

I am a rabid reader (I get it from my Dad), constantly studying and applying to do things that will make me grow in one fashion or another.  I have read many, many books on leadership, management techniques, how to develop a rapport with your peers, etc etc etc…and finally, I have a small (yet important) opportunity to prove myself to the boss (who is also the owner, in this case). 

Finally, finally I can use my god-given gifts of fearless extroversion and people-skills, and put some of the things I’ve learned in these books to work.  This a vehicle of growth for me, and it will help me get a seat at the table.   

It is from these next few months that I hope to glean some of the skills I’ll need to get from the table to being the guy in the tie.  I think this is definitely the right outlook on this situation…after all, I’ve read about it plenty of times, and I’m a quarter Irish.

Leave a Reply

