Toastmasters Makes You Surprise Yourself.

AS MANY OF YOU MAY KNOW, I joined Toastmasters International a few months ago, and it has been interesting, to say the least.  Last week, I gave my “Icebreaker” speech–the very first one out of the Competent Communicator’s Manual that they give you when you join.  (This manual gives you ten separate speeches to plan for, and space in the manual for comments on each speech that you can look back on to hone your skills as you go.)  In any case, I gave my first speech since college last week, and my wife actually was surprised to see me as nervous and jittery as I was.  I knew the material, and I knew I’d be on time; I was just a little nervous about the idea of using a prop right out of the gate.  (I tried to simulate that I was giving the entire speech out of my journal, without actually reading the whole thing out of my journal.)  I didn’t know if I’d be able to make that concept come through, or if it would get lost and make me look foolish.)

I got high marks for originality, confidence, use of space, and of all things, getting dressed up for the speech.  I need to work on variating my voice inflection, and making an even wider use of the floor to really speak to the crowd.  Honestly, I’m excited about the prospect of creating some new speeches that maybe the audience hasn’t seen yet…I don’t know why I’m getting so into this, but I like doing it.  It’s strange, but I’m liking it more and more, the better I become at it.  Surprised even myself!

    • Robin Laws
    • April 29th, 2010

    Congrats! Hope it goes well…I bet you will have some good speach material–not to mention the craziness of moving in the next few months!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

