What’s In A Name??

As many of you are on Facebook, I’m sure that you’ve looked through your family and eventually become friends with your aunts, uncles, cousins, nephews and nieces, and everyone else you are close to.  A funny thing happened to me just recently, while I was trying to do exactly this.

I’ve Googled my family name and had a few hits…and even looked through Facebook for other Granas who I may or may not be related to.  I met a guy who–get this–has EXACTLY the same name as my Dad (middle name included)–but not only that, he’s ALSO a pilot, and he’s ALSO running his own business out of Indianapolis.  He’s a couple of years younger than me and a well-decorated pilot, with all kinds of experience both domestically and internationally as well.   Got his own website up and running and everything.  Hopefully we’ll be able to forge a partnership and make each other profitable, and secretly I hope we’re related somehow.  I think it would be pretty cool to be able to help out a family member with their own business.

As Jeffrey Gitomer says, “All things being equal, people want to do business with their friends.  All things be unequal, people still want to do business with their friends.”  And so is shown the importance of networking.  Revel in it, folks–it’s impressive when things like these happen!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

