The Little Black Book Of Connections

I’m sure Jeffrey Gitomer will appreciate the free advertising he’s getting for this book…but I operate my life on most of the same principles as he (says he) does, so I don’t mind spreading the word.

I just finished a book with the same name as the title of this post, and it really hit home on a lot of things for me–particularly in this confusing time of new undertakings for me.  I’ve never filled out a financial statement for a business before, and I’ve never had to get into the tactics and techniques of smart marketing.  Sometimes I feel like I’m not quite sure where I’m going with this project, but I do have an idea how to get there, at least.  I’m taking the advice that Gitomer puts forth in his book to heart, and I figure that if he’s telling us what worked for him, it should work for us, too–right?

That’s probably true in its obviously-too-simple form, but one thing he says seems to be a universal truth:  If you bring value to others before you expect them to give value to you, they will eventually give it back tenfold.   Personally, I’ve been racking my brain trying to find opportunities to bring value to the most valuable contacts I have–people who have offered advice time and time again, who are mentoring me on this path I’m on–I feel like I haven’t got many options to bring them value other than to do what I do, if they own an airplane.  (None of them do, so far.)  I know that it’s the personal touch that gets through the noise, but I haven’t found much personal information about most of these folks yet.  It’s maddening, feeling like I’m under-prepared to be in the same circles and the same company as the rest of these professionals.  Feeling like the “New Guy” again, feeling “fresh out of school.”  I know it’ll get better, as time goes on, but for right now, this phase in my development pretty much stinks in that respect.

I hope you are well, and thanks for reading!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

