Ever Hear of Seth Godin?

“Anxiety is nothing but repeatedly re-experiencing failure in advance. What a waste.”

I just heard about this guy’s blog not too long ago–you can find it at http://sethgodin.typepad.com/–and he’s got a lot of great and empowering things to say.  I learned about him through the power of the internet; I saw his blog on the Facebook page of a long-ago high-school classmate and acquaintance, and became interested in his mantra.  (My back-in-the-day classmate is running her own business, which launched as of Winter 2008, I think. www.vautecouture.com/ is the website, for any of you interested in women’s vegan outerwear.)

My classmate (her name is Leanne) has been pretty inspirational to me because, as you all know, it takes a huge leap of faith to start something up like that.  I know that I have a few ideas I’m pursuing as business ideas, but I’m not quite there yet.  I would say that there are a lot of pieces of my personality that have demonstrated courage and adaptability, but I know I’ll be scared out of my mind the first time I launch a company or idea.  I wonder if she was.  It’s just that first time that gets you–the way anything new is–gets you uncomfortable, out of your zone.  But then, the next time, it’s easier to deal with, and by the fourth or fifth, it’s old-hat.  It’s just mustering the courage to push yourself out of that plane for the first time…

*Sigh*  I have continued to meet some fantastic people at these LinkedIn meetings…and they’re everywhere in town.  My wife and I went to test drive a car for her, and who opens the showroom door but Randy, a guy I’ve only met a couple of times at lunches.  Really nice guy.  Who knew?  I guess they’d “run into” me too, if they were bringing a private jet in for service, but still.  And everyone has some great advice to give–I’m grateful to be getting it.  I met a gentleman who told me, “Man, if I was thinking fifteen years ago the way you are now, I’d be sooo much farther along, so much happier…”  It’s encouraging that people I barely know are as supportive as they have been of my goals.

So.  I guess I need to get to work on some of my more promising ideas and leave the anxiety behind, eh?

    • Robin Laws
    • March 19th, 2010

    Anxiety is that great idea inside of you dying to get out!

    Also-pay attention to that gut feeling-that is your conscience telling you if it is a really good idea or a waste of your time and money.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

