Your Favorite Coffee Mug

I have two, actually.  A simple, white mug, with a cobalt blue handle, and cobalt blue rim, and written in the same color letters, it says, “I LOVE the smell of jet fuel in the morning!”  I’m drinking (coffee) out of it right now, in fact.  It was a gift from my brother for my birthday a couple of years ago, and for the time being, it’s a pretty apt reminder of the conditions I may walk into at work.  Just last week on Friday morning (which is actually my “Monday”), I had managed to get Jet A not only all over the floor despite my best efforts to keep it clean an orderly, but I managed to get it in my hair as well.  On Saturday morning, I got a face-full of grease from a high-pressure grease fitting at 6:45, not even an hour after I got to work.  The pressure had built up so greatly in the fitting that it sprayed back out the side of the fitting in what was almost a mist.  I was not amused.

My other favorite mug is cobalt blue as well, which is fitting since our fraternity’s colors are Argent and Azure.  ‘Course, Azure is much lighter in color, but who cares.  When I was a freshman in flight school at Kansas State-Salina, I was fortunate enough to join a group that would go on to charter, two years later, as a chapter of Phi Delta Theta fraternity.  A select group of guys who were a year ahead of me at the time got the ball rolling, but when my roommate (and best friend) and I joined, our class’ men helped push the group through The Process and got it chartered.  I am fortunate to be able to say that I am a Founding Father of the Kansas Eta chapter of Phi Delta Theta.  Every chapter member has a Bond Number, and many of the older chapters are in the four and five digits.  My Bond Number is 0009.  My fraternity brothers remain my fraternity brothers, even today, and we all take a lot of pride in saying, “We are Phi Delts,” even now, rather than saying, “We were Phi Delts,” as members of many other fraternities seem to.  It may be that members of our chapter have stayed in close touch with the chapter because it began from scratch and never had the chance to fall down the road of hazing traditions, or it may be that we really have managed to pick and recruit guys who embody the values of the fraternity.  Either way, I’m proud to be a part of it, and something as simple as that coffee mug serves as a reminder that my brothers are people who I need to take time out of my own world to think about and pray for as well.

What does your favorite coffee mug do for you that “other” coffee mugs don’t?  Is it the shape, the way it feels in your hands, the memories it brings up, the people it reminds you of?  Tell me what stories your favorite coffee mug holds.  If you want to, that is 😉

    • Mom
    • January 21st, 2010

    I like reading your blogs. Of course, you always were a good writer. This makes people think, hmmmmm, what is my faorite mug? Well, hmmmmm. I don’t think I have one. LOL. Luv u

    • Robin Laws
    • January 29th, 2010

    (And I get to help recruit too! I have a contact that just started KSU-S this past fall…and they said…what groups should I join to get involved on campus….guess what I recommended him to join? PDT!)

    I don’t have a favorite coffee mug, per-se, but I do enjoy a good, hot, freshly ground cup of coffee–!

    • Bond 1
    • March 18th, 2010

    Funny how I found my way to your blog today… And look what I read! Very cool man. As always thankful to have you as a brother in the bond!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

