Needed A New Pair Of Drawers!

One time, as a wide-eyed and excited flight student, I went out into the practice area with Kansas State’s trainer–a nearly-new Cessna 172R–and I began to practice the maneuvers that the curriculum specified.  I made it three maneuvers in, to power-on stalls.  I pulled the yoke back, waited for the buffeting to start, then fought for dear life as the stall broke, and the plane rolled over to the right, flipped on its back, and dove to the ground.  I lost a thousand feet in seven seconds before sheer instinct pushed me to do a textbook spin recovery, and promptly flew straight and level for a good fifteen miles before regaining my wits and calming down enough to function again.  I learned a lot that day, but it would only partly prepare me for a day that  would forever change the way I view myself, and why complete mastery of the aircraft’s controls is imperative.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

